theSun ONMONDAY | APRIL 16, 2018

Foes’ coincidental pollsencounter PRESS DIGEST BY KONG SEE HOH newsdesk@thesundaily.com THE saying “fate works inmysterious ways” cannot bemore apt to describe the encounters between two political foes. Incumbent TemerlohMPNasrudin Hassan of PAS, who beat then Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah for the seat in the 13th general election (GE13), has moved to contest the parliamentary seat of InderaMahkota in the upcoming polls. And coincidentally, he will bemeeting none other than Saifuddin, who is now representing PKR. The big questions are – “will Saifuddin be able to avenge his last defeat or will Nasrudin chalk up another victory?” or “will the Opposition votes be split to hand BN the victory in a three-cornered fight?” Nasrudin’s candidacy for Indera Mahkota was announced by PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang last week. Although PKR has yet to name its candidate for the seat, Saifuddin is believed to have been handpicked to contest it judging fromhis appointment as PakatanHarapan’s coordinator for the constituency, SinChewDaily reported yesterday. In their last encounter, then incumbent Saifuddinwas defeated by more than 1,000 votes. He polled 27,197 votes against Nasrudin’s 28,267 votes. TheMalay-majority InderaMahkota seat has 51,515 voters, or 66.6%of the total, 20,792 Chinese voters (26.89%) and 4,396 Indians (5.68%). In the last general election, PKR’s Fauzi Abdul Rahman polled 30,384 votes to retain the seat with a 7,523-vote majority over his closest rival, BN’s Datuk SeriWan AdnanWanMamat, in a three- way fight. The third candidate was independent G. Ponusamy. B R I E F S DAP’SBOODROPPED AFTERREJECTINGLABIS JOHOR BARU: Skudai state Batu Pahat on Saturday night that Boo, 54, will make way for Tan, the incumbent Mengkibol assemblyman. Boo has rejected the offer to contest for the Labis parliamentary seat. “There are several grassroots leaders who have rejected the offer, and they are allowed to stay. Why can’t I?” he said yesterday. However, Boo said he would stay in the party and help the DAP and Pakatan Harapan win the election. “I am a hard-core party member, I won’t contest as an independent.” He said this did not mean the end of his political career and he would continue to work for DAP. NABBEDFORREMOVING BNFLAGS INBRICKFIELDS KUALA LUMPUR: Police have arrested a man for removing Barisan Nasional (BN) flags in Brickfields on April 12. The man’s act was also caught on a video that was shared online. Brickfields district police chief ACP Ruslan Khalid said the 48-year- old local was arrested at a car wash premises in Brickfields at 6.30pm. “The incident took place at a junction near Jalan Tun Sambanthan 4.” assemblyman Dr Boo Cheng Hau (pix) is disappoint- ed that Tan Hong Ping would contest for his seat in GE14 instead of him. DAP secretary- general Lim Guan Eng announced in


FLAGSGALORE ... Amotorcyclist rides past a rowof party flags at Kampung Baru, Kuala Lumpur, ahead of the 14th general election. Saifuddin tipped to bePenangDCM

>PKR sec-gen amongfive newfaces tobefieldedby PakatanHarapan

Titiwangsa seat fromPAS in the previous general electionwith a slimmajority of 866 votes. Muhammad Suhaimi saidwhilemany names were proposed to the party’s leadership to contest in both seats, Samsu Adabi and Rina were shortlisted based on several factors, including their leadership and credibility. He added both candidates have been endorsed by the party’s election board, headed by PPBMchairman TunDrMahathir Mohamad, president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and deputy president Datuk Seri MukhrizMahathir. “The board believes that the two candidates are themost suitable and qualified for the face-off against the (BN) candidates in both seats,”Muhammad Suhaimi said. incumbent Nurul Izzah Anwar is expected to be fielded in Permatang Pauh, while incumbent Datuk Seri DrWan Azizah could be shifted to a seat in Selangor. Former Kebun Bungah assemblyman Jason Ong Khan Lee could make a comeback to his former territory as its incumbent Cheah Kah Peng is said to be facing the axe, largely due to his much- publicised fall out with the DAP-led state government. Lawyer Yusmadi Yusoff is set to be fielded in the Balik Pulau parliamentary seat despite been dropped in 2013. Penanti state seat incumbent Dr Norlela Ariffin is slated to defend her seat for a second-term despite her differences with the state government. Deputy Chief Minister I DatukMohd Rashid Hasnon might be moving to parliament, while PKR Youth deputy head Dr Afif Bahardin could still stand in Penang despite speculations that he would be relocated back to his home state of Selangor.

BY EDMUND LEE newsdesk@thesundaily.com

BY HAIKAL JALIL newsdesk@thesundaily.com PUTRAJAYA: An academician and a businesswoman are PakatanHarapan’s (PH) candidates for the Putrajaya and Titiwangsa parliamentary constituencies respectively. Former UKMpolitical science lecturer Datuk Dr Samsu Adabi Mamat (pix) has been named as PH’s candidate towrest the seat from BarisanNasional (BN). Samsu Adabi is also Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia’s (PPBM) Cheras division chief. PPBMwoman chief RinaMohdHarun will be the party’s sole representative in Kuala Lumpur, where she will stand in Titiwangsa. GEORGE TOWN: Penang PKRwill field five new faces in the 14th general election (GE14) with its national secretary-general Datuk Saifuddin Nasution Ismail named for the deputy chief minister post if Pakatan Harapan (PH) retains the state. Penang PKR state chairman Datuk Mansor Othman yesterday said changes “will be made in the party’s candidates list” but remained tight-lipped on the five newcomers who would replace the incumbents. Saifuddin, a political nomad with stints in Kedah and Kelantan, is speculated to be given a state seat as well as an attempt to wrest the Kulim-Bandar Baru parliamentary


Mohd Rashid

seat fromDatuk Abdul Aziz Sheikh Fadzir of Barisan Nasional (BN). “Once the list is ready then an announcement will be publicly made. “It will be fast. We will probably announce it maybe in the next few days,” saidMansor, who is the caretaker Nibong Tebal MP. PKR vice-president and Lembah Pantai

Ex-UKMlecturer isPH’smanforPutrajaya

The announcement of the two candidates was made by PPBM Federal Territories chief Capt (R) Muhammad Suhaimi Yahya at a press conference at the party’s Putrajaya headquarters at Ayer @ 8 yesterday. Federal TerritoriesMinister

Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan TengkuMansor and Second FinanceMinister Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani are the incumbent MPs of Putrajaya and Titiwangsa respectively. InGE13, Tengku Adnan, whowas seeking re-election, polled 9,943 votes to defeat his challenger HusamMusa – then a PAS candidate contesting under Pakatan Rakyat – who polled 4,402 votes. First-timer Johari managed towrest the

Made with FlippingBook HTML5